Fruška Gora is the lonely island mountain in the Panonian plain, bordered by the Danube river to the north while to the south it descends into loess flats that harbor last remains of typical steppe areas. It represents a real natural and cultural value of this region and in 1960 it was proclaimed as the first National Park of Serbia.
Due to numerous fossil remains of flora and fauna, this mountain is often called „mirror of the geological past“. Besides numerous hidden archaeological localities from prehistorical and historical times, there are 16 old orthodox monasteries that are under protection as UNESCO sites. Pastures and fertile soils, vineyards and orchards cover slopes and lower lands, while higher altitudes are covered by old and dense linden, beach and oak forests.
A special charm to this area is given by its numerous endangered, rare and protected species of flora and fauna. In different nooks of this mountain you can find various interesting plants (around 1500 species) and fungi (around 400 species), and maybe even see some rare and interesting animals like fire salamanders, lesser mole-rats, sousliks, wild cats, or the magnificent red deer that has made a comeback to this mountain.
Old forests as well as surrounding steppe pastures, stream valleys, groves and mosaic agricultural areas are home to a rich bird fauna, as more than 200 bird species can be found on the park’s territory. Many rare birds of prey can also be seen here, like saker falcons or red kites or even, if lucky enough, spot the Imperial Eagle!
To all those who love active vacation we recommend field horse riding and walking along Fruška Gora!
Fruška gora and the Mountain spirit volunteers!
Fruška gora is a beautiful oasis amongst the majorly altered landscape of fertile Vojvodina plains but it is not safe from the negative human impact! Despite its protected status the pressure on nature is piling up and while some of the natural riches ask just to be left alone to prosper, others need our help and that is where volunteer help is needed.
The surface under steppe vegetation is reduced and limited to the southern mountain slopes, where it persisted so far on the valley pastures due to the grazing purpose. These steppe fragments are last remaining natural habitats for sousliks, the main pray of the Eastern Imperial Eagle, an endangered raptor that has only a single remaining breeding pair in Serbia!
If you want to find more about activities in Fruška gora, check out our partner’s website!
It is a place for relaxation and recreation!
Fruška Gora is a fine ground for recreational activities and picnicking. Some of the most famous picnic sites include Stražilovo, Glavica, Popovica, Iriški Venac, TV Tower, Zmajevac, Brankovac, Andrevlje, Osovlje, Ležimir, Letenka and Testera.
You can reach them by either driving or walking between them, on the roads or through the forest. The mountain has over 400 km of marked hiking trails, so be sure to visit the website of one of the mountaineering clubs for more information if you pursue a hiking endeavor.
A heaven for wine lovers!
Fruška Gora is the area of good wines where Irig, Banoštor, Sremski Karlovci and Šid can be singled out among the wine centres. Some of the well-known wines include Riesling, Bermet, Frankovka, Merlot, Game, Vranac, Portuguiser, and Ausbruch… If you decide to visit some of many wineries in the vicinity of Novi Sad you can set off towards picnic routes: towards Fruška Gora, as well as towards Kovilj and its surroundings. Numerous wineries will offer you quality wines and warm welcome.
Some of the most popular winaries are:
Wine Cellar Miljević – Stari Ledinci www.podrum-miljevic.co.rs
Belo Brdo Winery – Čerević www.belobrdo.com
Fruškogorski vinogradi d.o.o – Banoštor www.quetwine.com
Mačkov podrum Winery – Irig www.mackovpodrum.co.rs
Deurić Winery – Mala Remeta www.atos-fructum.com/vinarija-deuric.html
Monasteries of Fruška Gora
The complex of preserved Serbian, Orthodox monasteries makes the most valuable monument treasure of Fruška Gora. The baroque monumentality of churches and monastery dormitories and the concentration of Orthodox monastic communities at Fruška Gora, have the inexhaustible power to attract visitors, pupils, students and pilgrims again.
Some of the most famous monasteries are:
According to folk tradition, monastery Kuveždin is the endowment of Despot Stefan Štiljanović (? – after 1540), and it was mentioned in historical records in 1566 for the first time. Monastery church is dedicated to Saint Sava.
A new church was built at the site of an old one in the period from 1815 to 1816. The murals and iconostasis were painted in 1849 by Pavle Simić, a famous painter from Novi Sad. The monastery was seriously damaged in the World War II. A baroque chapel at the monks’ cemetery from the 18th century was preserved. The restoration of the monastery complex has been in progress since 1973.
Monastery Šišatovac was founded in the 16th century by the monks who fled from the monastery Žiča (in the vicinity of Kraljevo). The monastery church is dedicated to the Nativity of the Holy Mother of God. Just as most other monasteries at Fruška Gora, the monastery has been destroyed and restored several times.
By the middle of the 18th century, a grandiose church was built and Grigorije Davidović Opšić painted the wall paintings and iconostasis. During the World War II, the monastery was mined. Until the World War II, it used to keep the relics of Despot Stevan Štiljanović. A writer Lukijan Mušicki (1777-1837) was one of the head abbots of the monastery. The renovation of the complex started in 1970.
Monastery Vrdnik or Vrdnik Ravanica is mentioned in written records during the 1560s. The monastery church is dedicated to Christ’s Ascension. The monks from the monastery Ravanica (near Ćuprija) came into the monastery as refugees by the end of the 17th century and they brought with them the relics of the Serbian Duke Lazar who was killed in the battle at Kosovo in 1389.
The relics of Duke Lazar were transferred to Belgrade during the World War II with the permission of the German authorities in order to prevent ustashas from destroying them. Monastery church of Vrdnik Ravanica, which still exists today, was built in the period from 1801 to 1811. An impressive iconostasis was painted by a painter Dimitrije Avramović (middle of the 19th century) and the wall paintings in the monastery dining room were painted by Amvrosije Janković (second half of the 18th century).
Monastery Krušedol was built in the period from 1509 to 1516. Its founders were Despot Djordje Branković, his mother Angelina Branković and Wallachian Prince Neagoe Basarab. The monastery church is dedicated to the Holy Mother’s Annunciation.
The paintings dating back to the period of monastery construction can be still seen on the pillars supporting the church dome.
First written data about monastery Beočin date back to the 16th century. Monastery church is dedicated to Christ’s Ascension. History records the data that the monks from Rača on the Drina came to the monastery by the end of the 17th century. Building of a new church started in 1731 and lasted until 1732 and the greatest merits for that should be attributed to benefactors Milivoje and his son Petar Milanković from Stari Futog.
Sremski Karlovci takes an exceptional place in the history of the Serbs because that was the centre of the Serbian Metropolitanate and the place where the Orthodox Seminary was established as the second in the Orthodox world, as well as the Grammar School of Sremski Karlovci, the first grammar school among the Serbs.
It is known after the monuments of culture and institutions established mainly during the 18th and 19th century, among which we can single out the Patriarch’s Palace, Congregational Church and Chapel of Peace.
Places of significance!
The place where the Karlovci Peace Treaty was concluded in 1669. The place of battle at Slankamen that took place in 1691 was commemorated by a monument erected in 1892. The Turkish side suffered a massive defeat. The place of battle at Vezirac that took place in 1716 is located at the Vezirac hill in the vicinity of Tekije (Petrovaradin).The site of the breach of the Srem Front is commemorated by the Memorial Complex “Srem Front” in Adaševci.
Spatial-cultural historical entities
The city core of Sremski Karlovci represents a baroque spatial cultural-historical entity that was constructed during the period from the middle of the 18th century up to the beginnings of the 20th century.
Monuments of culture out of Sremski Karlovci
According to a folk tradition, the church of Saint Nicholas in Stari Slankamen was constructed by Vuk Grgurević (Zmaj Ognjeni Vuk). However, the oldest written trace about the church dates back to 1501.
The Church of Saint Archangel Gabriel in Molovin was constructed in 1801.
The farmer’s house in Neštin represents a perfect example of folk architecture.
“Salaš“ farmsteads and etho houses
Fruška Gora area is a congregation of extraordinary amenities with preserved eco systems, lakes, picnic sites, historical sites, cultural monuments and original building, i.e. architectural heritage. A part of active heritage such as “Salaš” farmsteads and ethno houses are adapted to the needs of contemporary visitors but they are also the oases cherishing the spirit of the past times, Fruška Gora tales and myths. “Salaš” farmsteads and ethno houses are often located along the wine trails so that some of them provide the visitors the possibility to experience all the abundance of gastronomy and rural customs.
The household of Sava Graorac – Kovilj www.mangulice.com
Salaš Stojšić – Beška www.salasstojsic.com
Banstolka – a weekend houses settlement at Banstol www.banstolka.rs
Perkov’s Salaš – Neradin www.salasi.info/sr/salas/perkovsalas
Ethno house Maradik www.armidatours.co.rs
Ethno house “Mother Angelina” – Grgurevci www.etnokucamajkaangelina.com
Ethno house “Ilkićev Kućerak” in Srem – Vrdnik www.kucerak-u-sremu.rs
Eco-ethno club “Čerević” www.cerevic.rs/en
Salaš 137 on Chennai is the only place near Novi Sad. You will enjoy local food and drinks with the authentic ambience of the farm and the local music of the Vojvodina plain. Salaš 137 is recognizable and has been affirmed for years by this conceived way of its cuisine and social life.
The hotel offers elegant, Alt Deutsche style accommodation with 13 rooms and five large king size double rooms.
Also, the hotel has 8 double rooms, (4 rooms with optional extra bed).
All rooms at Salaš 137 hotel are equipped with multichannel TV and a stereo.
Each room in the hotel has its own large bathroom with a comfortable bathtub.
Salaš 137 complex also offers sauna facility.
The hotel also has a luxurious restaurant in its domain.
It is also equipped with sport facilities, children playground and a riding school.
It offers free parking, free Wi-Fi and electronic payment as well.
If You want to find more about it, booking is available here at Salaš 137 official website!
Ethno village “Vrdnička kula”
This relaxed hotel on the edge of Fruška Gora National Park is inspired by a traditional 12th-century village. It is 1 km from the 313 motorway and 18 km from lake Ledinci.
This out of a fairytale village offers two types of accommodation. Bungalows and rooms.
The size of each holiday home bungalow is 65m2.
Each house on the ground floor has a living room where there is a sofa, a modern bathroom, while upstairs there are two bedrooms.
The home capacity is minimum one and maximum six people.
All guests staying in ethno apartments can use the sports fields (two tennis courts, basketball and volleyball courts) free of charge.
Ethno rooms are 23m2 and have two single beds or one double bed. Modernly equipped rooms with a beautiful view of nature, will allow you to rest and regenerate the whole body. Some rooms also have terraces.
The room capacity is minimum one and maximum three people.
All guests staying in ethno rooms can use the sports fields (two tennis courts, basketball and volleyball courts) free of charge.
The living room in the ethno room is 70% of the regular price.
The village offers free parking and Wi-Fi.
It is also accommodated with a luxurious restaurant that has 230 seat capacity.